My Bookshelves

Recently I completed cataloging our family’s books on the computer. The last count was 767 titles, not including some Louis L’Amour and Zane Grey upstairs in the garage.

During Gretchen’s visit, I finished my book list and we boxed up all of her books. (Yay for more space!) I own 263 books already. My goal is to keep the number of books I have read higher than the number of books I own. So far I’m doing okay…I’m reading my 537th book since 2002.

The first entries in my little pink notebook were the Little House series and Boxcar Children books. My most recent? John Adams, Wives and Daughters, and Start Here. And I’m currently finishing The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (I absolutely adore this book…Bilbo is so lovable!). The next books I want to read after the Lord of the Rings trilogy are Ben-Hur and Les Miserables. Yes, I love big, thick books. I don’t think there’s a complete story in less than 300 pages (unless you’re C. S. Lewis, of course). 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gretchen
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 02:20:50

    Sis, you are amazing to have read more books than you own! When I grow up, I want to be like you!

    Reply

  2. Vanessa
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 03:20:39

    You have a wonderful collection of books! You are very organized to have them all counted. 🙂 I think my own collection is past counting already!

    Reply

  3. Hannah
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 15:17:00

    How organized you are!! Your bookshelves are just lovely (I wish I had the Little House books in hardcover as my soft cover ones are rather falling apart…). I like big, long books too, although sometimes it's fun to finish a little 100-something page book in a day or two!Blessings,~Hannahhannahshangout2.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a comment